the Constitution of the United States of America

September 17, 2011, by Ken Jorgustin


The Constitution of the United States of America was signed and adopted on September 17, 1787, by the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It has been amended twenty-seven times since then (the first ten amendments are known as the Bill of Rights).


Articles of the Constitution

Preamble: Statement of purpose
Article One: Legislative Power
Article Two: Executive power
Article Three: Judicial power
Article Four: States’ powers and limits
Article Five: Amendments
Article Six: Federal power
Article Seven: Ratification


“We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.”

Article One
…establishes the Congress, the legislative branch, the first of the three branches of the government. The United States Congress is a body consisting of two co-equal houses: the House of Representatives and the Senate.

Article Two
…establishes the second of the three branches of government, the Executive, and establishes the office of the President and the Vice-President.

Article Three
…establishes the last of the three branches of government, the Judiciary, and describes the court system including the Supreme Court.

Article Four
…outlines the relation between the states and the relation between the federal government.

Article Five
…details the method of amending, or changing, the Constitution.

Article Six
…sets the Constitution and all laws and treaties of the United States to be the supreme law of the country. It requires all officers of the United States and of the states to swear an oath of allegiance to the United States and the Constitution when taking office.

Article Seven
…details the method for ratification, or acceptance, of the Constitution: of the original 13 states in the United States, nine had to accept the Constitution before it would officially go into effect.


The United States Constitution online

Text of the US Constitution (PDF)

Text of the US Constitution (txt)


If you enjoyed this, or topics of current events risk awareness or survival preparedness,
check out our current homepage articles…