15 Interesting Facts about the Sun



As interest heightens while we approach the next 11-year solar cycle maximum during 2012 – 2013,

Interesting facts about the sun


    • The sun has three layers,
      • Radiative Zone (innermost layer of nuclear fusion)
      • Convective Zone (where the heat moves slowly from the inner layer to the surface)
      • Photosphere (the layer that we can see)


    • The sun is a big ball of  gas, 74 percent hydrogen and 24 percent helium.
    • At the sun’s core, nuclear fusion burns about 600 million tons of hydrogen every second, resulting in 596 million tons of helium and 4 million tons of energy.


    • The energy output from the sun is  385 billion billion megawatts, of which the Earth receives 95 billion megawatts (about the energy from 95 million typical sized nuclear power plants).


    • It takes 1 million years for the energy from the core to reach the surface of the sun.
    • About half of the sun’s hydrogen has been used up so far.


    • The temperature at the core of the sun is 27 million degrees F (15 million degrees C).
    • The surface temperature of the sun is about 10 thousand degrees F (5,500 degrees C).


    • The sun has a differential rotation, about every 25 days at the surface of the equator and about 35 days near the poles.


    • The diameter of the sun is 864,000 miles wide (1.4 million km).
    • 109 Earths would fit across the width of the sun.


    • The sun radiates light (photons) and charged particles of electrons and protons (solar wind).
    • The normal solar wind travels about 280 miles per second (450 km) and takes almost 4 days to reach the Earth.


    • The light from the sun (like all light) travels 186,282 miles per second (299,791 km) and takes about 8 and one-half minutes to reach the Earth which is 93 million miles away (150 million km).


    • Solar cycles occur every 11 years with an increase in sunspot activity, which sometimes erupt into solar flares that eject electromagnetic radiation particles into space.



Appreciate topics of survival, preparedness, risk awareness – or planning for disaster?
Read our current articles on Modern Survival Blog


  1. I have more facts

    This huge mass of hot, glowing gas has strong gravitational pull that holds Earth and the other planets in the solar system in orbit.
    There are NINE planets orbiting the SUN (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto)

    All planets orbit the sun in the same direction, counterclockwise,

    The temperature of the outer, visible part of the Sun is 5500°C. This part is the photosphere.

    The sun’s surface, or atmosphere, is divided into three regions: the photosphere, the chromosphere, and the solar corona.

    The photosphere is the visible surface of the sun and the lowest layer of the atmosphere.
    Just above the photosphere are the chromosphere and the corona, which also emit visible light but are only seen during a solar eclipse, when the moon passes between the Earth and sun.

    The Sun has a diameter of 1,390,000 km.

    The sun can fit approximately one-million Earths inside of it.

    Its Core temperature is 15 million º C.

    The sun is a common middle-sized star.

    The Sun is about 4.5 billion years old. it will probably continue to exist in its present form for about another 5 billion years before running out of hydrogen.

    Every so often, a patch of particles will burst from the sun in a solar flare, which can disrupt satellite communications and knock out power on Earth.
    Solar Flares usually start from the activity of sunspots. Theses spots are cooler than the rest of the sun.

    The sunspots on the sun have strong magnetic fields thousands of time stronger than earth’s.

    The sun rotates on its axis once every 25.38 Earth days.

    The sun’s gravity is 28 times than of Earth. That’s means you would weigh 28 times more!

  2. Actually there are only eight planets. Pluto doesn’t count anymore since it is now classified as a dwarf planet.

  3. i agree on what marcella says…there are only 8 planets in the solar system because pluto is considered now as dwarf planet because in order for it to be called as planet, it should be the largest body in the orbit…

  4. Solar winds are created by the sun. These solar winds are what cause Aurora Borealis.

    If the Sun were the size of a door, the earth in relative size would be the size of a nickel!

    Also, in reference to the posts about Pluto,in order for a planet to be classified as a planet it has to meet the following requirements:
    1. orbit the sun
    2. have enough mass to form a spherical shape
    3. cleared the neighborhood around the orbit

    Dwarf planets, which Pluto is now classified as, meet the first two requirements, but do not meet the 3rd.
    Dwarf planets have not cleared the neighborhood around their orbit, but they are also not satellites.
    This is the difference between dwarf planets (Pluto included) and planets(Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune).

  5. RadioActive Zone ( inner Most layer of nuclear fusion )

    Concentive Zone ( where the heat moves slowly from the inner layer to the surface )

    Photosphere ( the layer that we can see )

Leave a Reply

>>USE OPEN FORUM for Off-Topic conversation

Name* use an alias